Google Reader Help

http://www.flickr.com/photos/valeriebb/3006348550/sizes/t/in/photostream/

Attribution: Valerie Everett from flickr

This exploration of Web 2.0 is extremely useful. I have already briefly looked at 2 new technologies: Google Reader and Diigo and in the spirit of enquiry I wondered if anyone could help me with a technical question?

I notice that there are some Recommended Feeds in Google Reader already and I am tyring to get rid of them but wonder if I can or not? It is strange how this new space, that supposedly belongs to me, is already filled with stuff that Google presumes will interest me.

I find this oddly annoying and I think it has to do with a lack of ownership. If this is indeed my space, I should be able to populate it how I want. That’s why I like these blogs so much – because we can adapt them and they are flexible, they can represent how we want to be perceived by the public, in the same way we create avatars.

I guess this highlights the flip side of the coin in relation to social media, cloud computing, and the power that technologies have over us! The way they can use cookies, metadate and other clever technologies to find out so much about us, from which “friends” we might like to be acquainted with to which product we should buy. That’s another story though.

Lord Google spies and presumes!

Lord Google spies and presumes!

I feel sure that we must be able to delete these feed recommendations so if anyone can elighten me please do.

I already use Delicious and TweetDeck to collect all my Twitter, LinkedIn and Facebook feeds and wonder how the Google Reader compares?

Right time to catch up on everyone’s blogs and see what I can learn…

…which I have done and need to refer you to Paul’s excellent blog posting at: http://bit.ly/r7Nmz0 in which he talks about RSS, Creative Commons and Tagging. It is interesting that he relishes the future potential of the intelligent web, the “semantic” web which could cleverly predict what we might like to know. Perhaps I am on the wrong side of the Digital Divide.

Advertisers, courtesy of companies like Google, Amazon and FaceBook actually use even more relevant metadata, which is tied personally to you, metadata which is correlated to your online presence and continuously generated. As an example, when you open up Amazon after making a purchase of a cookery book, you are very likely to be offered other books on cooking. The use of metadata in this way will hopefully lead to the semantic web, where the computer will use metadata to create its own intelligent metadata, providing you with information about things before you have already shown an interest in. It has been muted that the semantic web would already be here, however, it is possibly due to the inadequate tagging on so many existing web resources that the initial databank required isn’t significant enough yet“.

http://reportfolio.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/week-two-rss-creative-commons-and-tagging/

One thought on “Google Reader Help

  1. Hi Beth,
    Like Paul, I also think the semantic web, and semantic wikis, could be useful for identifying potential sources of interest and leads. However, does this not mean that we would have to develop acute information assessment skills so we can make informed choices of what to follow up? As you say about Google reader, there are so many potential avenues to follow that it can dizzying and overwhelming. Skillfully navigating the semantic web could be a powerful way of learning, as long as we can control ‘it’.

Leave a Reply

